Rilla of Ingleside

Category: Literature

Price: iPhone/iPad - Paid
  • Rilla of Ingleside-1Rilla of Ingleside-2Rilla of Ingleside-3Rilla of Ingleside-4Rilla of Ingleside-5

User Reviews

Share your thoughts with other app users and get your free app of the month

From the Developer

Rilla of Ingleside (1921) is the final book in the Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery, but was the sixth of the eight "Anne" novels she wrote. This book draws the focus back onto a single character, Anne and Gilbert's youngest daughter Bertha Marilla "Rilla" Blythe. It has a more serious tone, as it takes place during World War I and the three Blythe boys - Jem, Walter, and Shirley- along with Rilla's sweetheart Ken Ford, and playmates Jerry Meredith and Carl Meredith - end up fighting in Europe.

The book is dedicated: "To the memory of FREDERICA CAMPBELL MACFARLANE who went away from me when the dawn broke on January 25, 1919–a true friend, a rare personality, a loyal and courageous soul."

It is interesting to note that Rilla of Ingleside is the only Canadian novel written from a women's perspective about the First World War by a contemporary.

Read More Less




More from the Developer